Nel of Bleach vs. Kaori of To-Aru Majutsu no Index

And I was so hyped up about seeing this on the screen.

And I was so hyped up about seeing this on the screen.

Of the few things left in Bleach that had still kept me a fan, the most immediate one was the arrival of Nel on the motion screen. My first reaction when I saw her adult form in the manga was, “Damn, Nel’s hawt!” My second, “I can’t wait to see this animated.”

In the meanwhile, the filler arcs in Bleach had tried my patience—I barely survived through the 40+ episodes Bounto arc and those nauseating muppet stooges. Then, when Bleach started yet another filler arc with some hacked-off Captain, I said to myself that I needed a break from the mind-numbing fillers. Still, I kept an eye at RC for news of its return to the main story.

The reason: Nel.

After twelve glorious episodes of Strike Witches of melons and pantsu, I was fully aroused to see loli Nel finally bursting into the sexy cavewoman with those luscious breasts and tone athletic legs, kicking some serious badass.

Then, episode 192 finally arrives, and, boy, have I ever been more disappointed?!

Don’t the animators know how much fans have been waiting for this moment? This episode should have been the perfect place to try to gain back some brownie points with fans who have gotten disinterested with the series. Divert some money from the lesser episodes in the future, spend them here in this one, make the fans feel excited again—those, they should have done, but didn’t.

Kaori Kanzaki

Kaori Kanzaki

What compounds the problem for Bleach is that in the same week another show happens to feature a character in a similar form: To Aru Majutsu no Index‘s Kaori Kanzaki. Both are badass katana wielding women baring midriff, holstering a pair of plump melons, and kicking those long stretched legs. However, the contrast between the two animations could not highlight more just how out of date and second-rated Bleach animation has become.

The two colors on Nel’s shirt, in contrast to the lighting and folds on Kaori’s shirt, deflate one of Nel’s best feature into complete flatness.

Kaori’s six-pack puts Nel’s to shame.

Kaori’s hair looks more detail than Nel’s blob of cyan.

Somehow, showing less is more.

Kaori’s expression looks more emo. Of course, Nel’s would win the facial distortion contest here.

What ever happened to a thing called rich background?

Then, there’s the high pitch voice. *Shakes head in disbelief* What is up with that? Reading the manga, I have always imagined a much deeper voice for the grown Nel, like the voice on Kaori. It just totally kills the mood with the way she squeaks. We are already pleasantly shocked with her new grown body bearing little resemblance to her kid-size one; so, we can handle the shock of hearing a different voice too.

What a bad timing for the Bleach animators to slack off.

About bakaneko

私って誰か?
This entry was posted in Bleach, To Aru Majutsu no Index. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Nel of Bleach vs. Kaori of To-Aru Majutsu no Index

  1. blissmo says:

    Well, see, I gave up watching Bleach because it kept disappointing me, and then I stopped the manga ‘cos I couldn’t be bothered reading it anymore 😛

  2. Panther says:

    Seriously, I lol’ed when her voice was still the same after adult form. I also imagined it to be deeper.

    Kaori is <3. Voiced by Itou Shizuka no less. Except I do not watch that anime lol.

  3. Keiri says:

    Ahaha Kaneda Tomoko doesn’t have a distinctively deep tone to her voice anyway (Well, if she sounds like that in real life too then I guess there’s not much to expect. Then again, it’s a different case with Yukana – quite high pitch in real life but can do deep and sexy). They could have cast another actress to do adult Nel but if they can’t spare a little of their budget to slightly improve the animation for even only this episode, then there’s not much hope in getting another cast for her especially since Nel doesn’t stay in her adult form that often?

    And Good Job on the Nice Body comparison! d(^^ )

  4. nazarielle says:

    Well, I don’t follow Bleach, so I can’t comment about that, but the best part about Kaori’s fight scene, the fighting, was marred by ten minutes of Touma and Kaori bitching back and forth at each other >:| I wanted to see more of Kaori kicking ass! 😦

  5. bakaneko says:

    @blissmo, the manga isn’t so bad. They are making it more interesting by giving some minor characters a good backstory.

    Yes, I’m still in denial.

    @Panther, Keiri, the writers could’ve sought out a guest seiyuu. How much could it cost to pay one to do one or two episodes?

    @nazarielle, I too find that odd too. It’s like some loan shark coming to get their money back but then sitting down to receive a long session of psychotherapy discussing why he hates so much. 🙂

  6. Baka-Raptor says:

    That voice…what were they thinking…ugh…even I could voice a better adult Nel.

  7. bakaneko says:

    @baka-raptor, will you cosplay as adult Nel too and put it on youtube?

  8. Silersun says:

    Actually, I saw Nel’s voice being high. And you need to show her with release. She’s really good 😀

Leave a Reply

