Old characters, new forms—gundam 00 s2 1

I still won't accept this as a gundam.

I still won't accept this as a gundam.

What Gundam 00 must do in the second season is to introduce some real badass Gundam vs. Gundam matchup that has made Gundam SEED and Destiny so engaging. Season one didn’t really kick off for me until the Thrones arrived and Exia started to exterminate them, but they didn’t really do much with it. Just because those A-LAWS are equppied with (fake) GN-drives does not make them Gundam. No, sir, you are not Gundam! BTW, I was expecting Setsuna to give his famous line. Sigh…

I never knew you become mellow once you pass puberty.

I never knew you become mellow once you pass puberty.

I have managed to avoid all the PV’s in hopes that I would be pleasantly surprise by how each character has aged, of which, Soma, or Marie, took the biggest surprise. How did a emo/ego-centric, stiff-necked, I’m-all-that pilot become such graceful and domestic wife-material? Her supersoldier genetic programming must had taken a glitch to kick in her super-wifey mode.

I like the upgrade, but...

I like the upgrade, but...

I thought Exia had lost more than just its left arm. Didn’t it lose its head too? I suppose Setsuna could have picked it up, but wouldn’t Sleepy Hollow Exia be cooler than Pirate Exia? It already had the cape. Beside, shouldn’t Pirate Exia have a hook instead?

From last episode first season

From last episode first season

The first season was the first time I’ve seen a lead Gundam pilot without a new suit upgrade. So, I suppose they had to destroy his old suit A.S.A.P. to begin the second season, which is also another first for me to see a Gundam get destroyed in the first episode.

A five year old high tech machine is pretty damn old, isn’t it? I have never used the same computer for more than eighteen months. It is just not possible to keep up with the demands of the graphical requirements of each new game. So, I couldn’t expect Exia to keep up with the new A-LAWS. However, it didn’t seem like Setsuna had gotten better as a pilot either.

Left from ep. 1 S2; right from ep. 1 S1.

Given that Gundam SEED broke my Gundam cherry, I couldn’t tell if this is the first time in the Gundam franchise to feature no major character under the age of 21. I’m not really complaining though, as I have no desire to watch teenage angst or whining. However, I am most definitely hoping that the writers will take advantage of the more mature cast and give us more… um… mature thematic elements.

Kira Yamato wrote a new page in the franchise’s history by being the first Gundam hero to pop somebody’s cherry in the course of the show; now let’s see if Setsuna will write another with the Virgin Princess.

Are you ever going to suit up?

Are you ever going to suit up?

Saji rose from an useless, side character to become the surprise emotional vector in the first season. Given how well his character was setup already, I was expecting him to take the lead in S2. However, what kind of Gundam pilot can he become if he can’t pull the trigger? Of course, having Louise bite the dust hard would stack upon his loss of his sister and could change his stance once and for all.

I have hands, HANDS!

I have hands, HANDS!

Oh she is so dead meat already. It can’t be mere coincidence that her first name is similar to the last name of another psycho-emo blondie pilot from GSD. Come to think of it, there are many similarities between the cast of GSD and this one: Setsuna F Seiei=Kira Yamato, Louise Halevy=Stella Loussier, and Saji Crossroad=Shinn Asuka. If so, let’s see if Saji can do better than Shinn. Oh SH*T, who would be Lunamaria?!

So hot, so evil

So hot, so evil

I am hoping that just as Alejandro got suckered by Ribbons in first season, Ribbons would be suckered by Liu Mei in the second. There is much RAEG in her, the way she would support any means, so long as the world would changed. And she is in the perfect position to screw everybody too, being the only person having communication access to both the new UN and the Celestial Being.

So hot, so... oh, wait up.  What am I saying?!

So hot, so... oh, wait up. What am I saying?!

Why do I feel like staring into his eyes could make me do things I don’t want to?

Almost MILF like

Almost MILF like

The homely atmosphere, the impeccable attire, the quiet, somber demeanor, Saint Marina is the polar opposite of…

When alcohol alone isn't enough...

When alcohol alone isn't enough...

I’m sure this is just all within Veda’s plan. (And I like where this plan is taking too.)

One mask is cool, the other hideous.

His call sign will be L00ck00n.

His call sign will be L00ck00n.

Well, this certainly is an innovative way of resurrecting a character.

The mathematic of Celestial Being requires the number 0 be followed by the number 00.

The mathematic of Celestial Being requires the number 0 be followed by the number 00.

About bakaneko

私って誰か?
This entry was posted in Gundam 00 S2 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

