Bleach (manga) 354: Espada 00

I'm expecting the other 0 to show up on his other shoulder soon.

I'm expecting the other 0 to show up on his other shoulder soon.

Holy crap! What a ripoff from Gundam 00?! Now we have an Espada 0. I wonder if Yammy will get quadruple reiatsu output once he features the other 0 on his other shoulder.

Ok, maybe not.

But still, to have Yammy be cooler (cooler because he’s supposed to be stronger) than Stark does not sit well with me. This guy to me is a dumb ass, unlike the lay back Stark. And if Ichigo’s bankai is any indication, smaller is stronger anyway.

And who counts from zero anyway? Doesn’t zero mean nothing, a nobody? Perhaps this is just some practical joke Aizen is playing on poor Yammy.

Espada’s Heart

x0904172211heart

Wow, what a cheap way to try to squeeze sympathy out of the readers for Ulquiorra?! Two chapters ago, he was this pathetic little sore loser lying on the ground crying how he wanted to die because he had just lost. Such fighter has no heart. (I know because Hajime no Ippo tells me so.) Fortunately, he did preserve a last ounce of juice and attempted a retaliation, which preserved my last bit of respect for him as well.

So now, before he’s really gone, he’s going to leave behind his heart to Orihime. Awww… How touching! I don’t know about you, but to me that scene felt very forced. And it felt completely out of left field. Since when did Ulquiorra show any hint of emotion? He was always this calculating machine, executing his every action for the service of Aizen. Nothing more, nothing less.

But a heart?

I thought the hole in every hollow’s chest represents the fact that they have no heart. Did Ulquiorra qualify as a hollow if he did have a heart? Hmm… I’m somewhat intrigued. I wouldn’t mind if the writers try to now backfill some of his story. Ulquiorra was one of the cooler characters I wanted to see on every page of the manga. Let’s see what an Espada’s heart is like.

About bakaneko

私って誰か?
This entry was posted in Bleach (manga). Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bleach (manga) 354: Espada 00

  1. Baka-Raptor says:

    I thought the top espada weren’t supposed to fight at full strength inside Las Noches.

  2. Inuhanyou says:

    There were plenty of hints towards Ulquiorra’s feelings, case in point the scene directly after inoue slapped him, and he’s standing outside her door listening to her cry.

    To me it was all too obvious what would happen in the end, but i guess that’s just me.

  3. bakaneko says:

    @Baka-Raptor, good catch, but that’s perhaps his true strength is in the second 0, which he did not reveal yet. :)

    @Inuhanyou, that’s some read you got there.

  4. Panther says:

    How does a Hollow even have a heart? But then again Ulquiorra realizes at the end that he too can see one, not that he has one.

    And WTF with Yami. Now Bleach is just getting ridiculous. At least we get to see some 3rd Espada release, but I still think Yami is weaker than Stark.

  5. bakaneko says:

    @Panther, Damn, and I was hoping Bleach can become deep by exploring the idea that even a Hollow can have a heart. But then again, don’t you need a heart to sense a heart?

    Yea, I don’t think Yammy > Stark either, but Yammy’s upgrade should make an interesting fight when Kenpachi finally shows up.

  6. Rickett says:

    Could it be that Ulquorria was a human that became an hollow and found himself in hueco muendo moving up the species table and other thing his appearance is white none of the espada has it because i think thats the only way he could realize what a heart is Orihime reaching out to him was confusing if she had held is hand that would have made more sense she didn,t even get the chance to touch him or as son as she touched him another level of her power comes out but maybe it sounds cheesy though.

  7. Kotoko says:

    The whole “I’m a whole lot stronger than I initially made myself out to be” thing is so overused in Bleach by now that I almost laughed when Yammy revealed himself to be Espada 0. I swear, if someone comes out with a -1 tattoo, I will drop this series.

  8. bakaneko says:

    @Rickett, I’m hoping the story will explore Ulquorria’s backstory too. The other defeated Espada seem to have a decent backstory.

    @Kotoko, haha. And after that, they’ll feature one of the Espada’s underlings as 1/2 or 2/3.

Leave a Reply

